Convocation and Excellence Awards Ceremony 2023

The IITB-Monash Research Academy's Convocation and Excellence Awards Ceremony, held on 18th August 2023, marked a momentous occasion in the academic calendar, celebrating the achievements of exceptional graduates and researchers who exemplify the spirit of innovation, collaboration, and academic excellence.

The IITB-Monash Research Academy, a collaborative effort between the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB) and Monash University, Australia, has consistently strived to push the boundaries of knowledge and foster international cooperation. The Convocation and Excellence Awards Ceremony served as a testament to the academy's commitment to nurturing top-tier talent and driving cutting-edge research.

With great pride and enthusiasm, 15 out of the 28 graduates who attended, donned their academic regalia and embarked on a journey that not only marked the culmination of years of dedicated research but also the beginning of their impactful contributions to the world. The graduates, along with their families and faculty advisors, attended the ceremony to witness the landmark moment in their academic and professional lives.



The event was graced by distinguished personalities who have been instrumental in shaping the academic landscape of the Academy. The ceremony's significance was magnified by the presence of eminent figures from IIT Bombay and Monash University. The jointly badged PhD degree was conferred upon the graduates by Prof. Subhasis Chaudhuri (Director, IIT Bombay) and Prof. Susan Elliott AM (Interim President & Vice-Chancellor, Monash University) signifying the collaborative spirit that defines the Academy.

Prof. Susan Elliott AM, representing Monash University, and Prof. Subhasis Chaudhuri, representing IIT Bombay, personified the coming together of two prestigious institutions for the advancement of knowledge and research. Their presence not only underscored the academic rigor that the graduates have undergone but also the promise of the future, where interdisciplinary collaboration continues to be a driving force.

The event wasn't just about the conferral of degrees; it was also a moment to recognize and celebrate excellence. The Excellence Awards Ceremony was a tribute to the exceptional contributions made by students and faculty members alike. Outstanding research posters, publications and thesis of the students were acknowledged and applauded.

The award winners in the various categories were:

Best 3 Minute Talk (First Prize) – Jaydeep Das

Best 3 Minute Talk (Second Prize) – Ashish Kumar S

Best 3 Minute Talk (Third Prize) – Sanika Padelkar

Best Poster less than 2 years - Shivali Patkar

Best Poster greater than 2 years – Poornima V.B

Best Research Paper - Urvashi Bothra

Best Thesis – Sujata Walunj

The recipients represented a diverse group of scholars whose work showcased the breadth and depth of research at the academy.



The Convocation and Excellence Awards Ceremony also served as a platform for fostering connections between the graduates, faculty, and industry experts. The networking opportunities provided an avenue for the exchange of ideas and the establishment of collaborations that could potentially lead to groundbreaking advancements in various fields.

As the graduates walked across the stage to receive their degrees and awards, the pride and enthusiasm in the room were palpable. The event was not only a celebration of individual accomplishments but also a collective acknowledgment of the academy's commitment to nurturing intellectual curiosity, interdisciplinary collaboration, and global perspectives.

In conclusion, the ceremony was a resounding tribute to academic brilliance, innovation, and the power of collaborative research. As the graduates embark on new journeys, they carry with them the knowledge, skills, and values instilled by the Academy, poised to make a lasting impact on the world.