From the 6th to 8th December 2022, the IITB-Monash Research Academy hosted the Global Energy Futures Conclave – 2022 at IIT Bombay. The first face to face conclave in several years, it brought together professors from IIT Bombay, Monash University, and industry leaders from India and Australia to drive conversations and build collaborations on the future of energy for achieving Net Zero targets.

Conducted over 3 days, participants delved into the challenges and opportunities critical to the themes of Carbon Capture, Utilization & Sequestration, New Technology & Policy for Energy Transition, Grid Integration – Renewable Energy & EV Mobility, Battery Storage, Green hydrogen & Ammonia, Smart Grid & IoT, Social Impact of Energy Transition & India Australia Energy Policy. Coming together for enriching discussions that will shape future research directions on responses to climate change, CCUS and developing key steps in the achievement of each country’s Net Zero ambitions. The formation of key relationships between researchers from both IITB and Monash and the linkages to industry representatives will be key to determining the next array of PhD research projects that will drive IITB-Monash’s goal to maintain its position as the leading research institution in the Energy futures theme   

Inauguration speeches were delivered by Mr. MS Unnikrishnan, CEO of IITB-Monash, followed by inaugural talk by Prof. Subhasis Chaudhury, Director, IIT Bombay and Prof. Milind Atrey, Dean R&D, IIT Bombay. From industry Dr. Jitendra Joshi – Chief Technologist, Woodside Energy, and Mr. Prabodha Acharya, Chief Sustainability Officer, JSW that set the tone for the conclave. This was followed by presentations and panel discussions that were chaired by Industry leaders and senior professors of both institutions.

IITB-Monash expresses its sincere gratitude for the valuable time, efforts, and expertise in making the conclave a great platform for discussing the insights and experience from the industry panellists & professors from both IIT Bombay & Monash University

Industry Representatives

Mr. Swaroop Banerjee, Vice President - Corporate Sustainability Team, JSW

Dr. Hari Prasad Konka, Technology Leader, Eaton Research Labs, Eaton India Innovation Center

Dr. Pranavamoorthy Balasubramanian Technology Manager, Eaton Research Labs at Eaton India Innovation Center 

Mr. Ketan Chitnis, Head – Advance Chemistry Cell, L&T Hydrocarbon Energy

Mr. PV Balaramakrishna, General Manager – Technology (Hydrocarbon), L&T

Mr. Mukesh Kolhe – Founder & Managing Director, MKay Consulting Pty Ltd,

Dr Nawshad Haque – Principal Scientist, CSIRO  


From IIT Bombay and Monash University the panellists were – 


Prof. Sankar Bhattacharya

Interim Head of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Monash University

Prof. Paul Webley

Professor and Director, Woodside Monash Energy Partnership, Monash University

Prof. Vikram Vishal

Convener, National Centre of Excellence in Carbon Capture and Utilization. Associate Professor, Department of Earth Sciences Associate Faculty, Interdisciplinary Programme in Climate Studies, IIT Bombay

Prof. Akshat Tanksale

Theme Leader for Carbon Capture, Conversion and Utilisation,Woodside-Monash Energy Partnership

Co-Director of Research, Department of Chemical Engineering, Monash University

Prof. Murali Sastry

Theme Leader for Global Partnerships, Woodside-Monash Energy Partnership

Materials Science and Engineering and Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Monash University

Prof. Munish Chandel

Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Department, IIT Bombay

Prof. Alan Chaffee

Professor, School of Chemistry,Monash University

Mr. Mukesh Kolhe

Founder & Managing Director, MKay Consulting Pty Ltd 

Dr. Nawshad Haque

Principal Scientist, CSIRO

Prof. Mita Bhattacharya

Professor, Department of Economics, Monash Business School, Monash University

Prof. Santanu Bandyopadhyay

Praj Industries Chair Professor, Sustainability and Process Integration (SPrInt) Laboratory, Department of Energy Science and Engineering, IIT Bombay

Prof. Ariel Liebman

Director, Monash Energy Institute

Professor (Sustainable Energy Systems), Department of Data Science & AI, Faculty of Information Technology, Monash University

Prof. Zakir Hussain Rather

Professor, Department of Energy Science and Engineering, IIT Bombay

Dr. Hassan Haes Alhelou

Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering, Monash University

Prof. Mainak Majumder

Director, ARC Research Hub on Advanced Manufacturing with 2D Materials (AM2D), Associate Director, Monash Energy Institute

Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Department at Monash University and Adjunct Professor, Chemical Engineering Department at Monash University

Dr. Manas Ranjan Panda

Research Fellow, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering.

Prof. Venkatasailanthan Ramadesigan

Department of Energy Science and Engineering

Prof. Raman Singh


Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, and Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering, Monash University

Dr. Manjunath Chatti

PostDoctoral Research Fellow, Monash University

Prof. Arnab Dutta

Prof. Department of Chemistry, IDP Climate Studies, National Center of Excellence in CCUS

Prof. Nemai Karmakar

Director, Monash Microwave, Antenna, RFID and Sensor Laboratory (MMARS), Director, ECSE Industry Engagement, ECSE CPD Coordinator,

Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering, Monash University

Prof. Reza Razzaghi

Senior Lecturer, Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering, Monash University

Prof. Zakir Rather

Professor, Department of Energy Science and Engineering, IIT Bombay

Prof. Anand Rao

Professor & Head, Center For Technology Alternatives for Rural Areas

Prof. Trupti Mishra

Professor,Shailesh J. Mehta School of Management, IIT Bombay

Prof. Priya Jadhav

Professor, Center For Technology Alternatives for Rural Areas

Prof. Sudha Mani

Senior Lecturer of Marketing at Monash University and a member of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, Small Business Franchise Consultative Committee.

Prof. Haripriya Gundimeda

Institute Chair Professor of Economics, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT Bombay

Prof. Vishal Sardeshpande

Professor (Adjunct), Center for Technology Alternatives for Rural Areas